This change in Policy states that your WhatsApp information will be shared with Facebook for better targeted ads.
What Does It Mean?
This would work even if you have not added your number on Facebook, if the phone on which WhatsApp is installed has Facebook app installed. It will not give out any phone numbers, and your chats are still encrypted and private. It just means that anyone on your contact list, who is not your friend on Facebook, would be shown as “friends suggestions” on your Facebook account, and if you signed up for anything, let’s say you subscribed to nucuta.com with your WhatsApp number, and if we posted a Facebook ad, then you will be shown these ads on Facebook.
How Does It Work?
Basically Facebook and whatsapp are in synchronously mode. This happens because WhatsApp assigns a unique number to your device and then identifies it as the user. Then, the Facebook app on your phone syncs and collects data from WhatsApp. This significant change has been brought about better targeted ads for Facebook ,whilst WhatsApp remains ad free and free of charge service.
How Can I Opt Out?
Remember it is up to you to share your information with Facebook. In fact it leads to better ad generation and help both ad publishers and Facebook. It will also help you to find any person on Facebook whose name you don’t remember! WhatsApp has made it clear that your chats are only yours. So it is up to you whether you would want to opt out or in. Time is thirty days to decide.